RSS

Goal setting…even if you’re not sure how to measure the results.

20 Nov

A little over a year ago I set a goal for myself to blog every day for one year. That was a measurable goal. I also set the goal of having the #1 Horse Blog on the internet. Here is the interesting thing.

I had no idea how to measure if I had reached that goal. I’m not a tech person, I don’t know web analytics and I’d never seen a award given for the ‘best horse blog.’

But I’m not a stranger to setting goals that are difficult to measure. Sure, I can set out to ride my horse five days a week, that is a very measurable goal but often I want more. I want to have a good ‘relationship’ with my horse. How do I measure that? Should I give him a survey at the end of the year? If we have one bad day does it erase three good ones? In the end I have to accept that some goals are easier to measure than others.

This week I was surprised, and thrilled, to see the photo below pop up on my Facebook page. I know that HorseClicks isn’t trying to say that I’m the #1 Horse Blogger out there…but the post was still exciting for me to see. Maybe I did reach that goal. Maybe I didn’t. Maybe I will never know. But I’m still glad I set it because it helped point me in the direction I wanted to go.

Stacy Westfall #1 Horse Blogger?

Setting goals doesn’t always require knowing the end result.

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2014 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Goal setting…even if you’re not sure how to measure the results.

  1. Pauline L (from France)

    November 21, 2014 at 3:13 am

    I do not know if that counts but for me you are the #1 Horse Blog 😉 Thank you for all that you do !

     
  2. Janette

    November 21, 2014 at 9:15 am

    I’ll second that. I think your the number one horse blogger.

     
  3. johanna

    November 21, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    congratulations on reaching your goals-
    very well-deserved recognition!

     
  4. Sandy

    November 21, 2014 at 9:25 pm

    You are number one in my book. You inform and entertain. I look forward to reading your blog daily.

     
  5. Ashley {The North Carolina Cowgirl}

    November 24, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    That’s awesome congrats! Love the blogs mentioned in that list.

     
  6. aagee

    November 24, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Congrats! I love all the blogs mentioned in that list!

     
  7. Lori B.

    November 25, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    I’ll measure it for you. You are doing great, seriously! Time is the most valuable thing I have, and I am quite willing to spend it reading your blog, and watching your videos. Highly informative, and very entertaining!!

     
    • Stacy

      November 25, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      Happy moment reading this!!! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
