RSS

What is your favorite horse movie of all times?

23 Oct

needed a horse movie that I could watch over and over again in the motor home…can you guess which one we bought last night? Do you have a go-to horse movie you love to re-watch?What is your favorite horse movie of all time?

I always loved The Black Stallion. Even watching it now as an adult I am impressed with how non-verbal the entire beginning is. I love it because it makes the horse/human interaction even more personal.

I try to go to every horsey movie that comes out…even if it is a movie like Hidalgo where I have to poke my husband to get him to stop picking on the movie (he wasn’t a fan of Hidalgo).

I am hoping that when I check the comments on here I will have a complete list of the best horse movies so I can make it my mission to watch them all.

 
151 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2014 in Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

151 responses to “What is your favorite horse movie of all times?

  1. Kaedy Stovall

    October 23, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    The Man From Snowy River, 1 & 2!

     
    • Fiona Anderson

      October 23, 2014 at 6:26 pm

      You bet! The best ever!

       
    • Jim House

      October 23, 2014 at 6:30 pm

      Yep!

       
    • Mike Cooper

      October 23, 2014 at 6:43 pm

      1 was better than 2 but good choice

       
    • Karen Montgomery

      October 28, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      Good taste. Best movies of man/horse connection partnership I can think of!

       
  2. Judith Ahern

    October 23, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    I like spirit the music is beautiful

     
  3. patsy24

    October 23, 2014 at 5:53 pm

    secretariat, without a doubt

     
  4. Kristine S.

    October 23, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    Stacy,

    Black Beauty (1994 version) is one of my favorite movies of all time, horsey and non! 🙂 I also love Spirit, Secretariat, Seabiscuit and The Horse Whisperer!

     
  5. Tenaya

    October 23, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    The Black Stallion. So beautiful how they can convey such story with little dialogue

     
  6. Tammy

    October 23, 2014 at 5:58 pm

    Phar Lap! But have your Kleenex ready!!

     
  7. dianna wright

    October 23, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    Secretariat and seabiscuit toss up between them.

     
  8. Jessica Batterink

    October 23, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    I too love Spirit, and . Am currently trying to get my girls into it. 3 and 1 years old. Fave of all time, international velvet. I ride english these days and have drempt of eventing. Horse in the grey flannel suit, horse whisperer, I could go on and on. Also a documentary, wild horse wild ride, about the prison horse training projects. I think the program is amazing. Inmates giving back and learning skill, and horses findin. Homes.

     
  9. Sydney

    October 23, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    Spirit, yes the cartoon because any other movie it turns into “count how many different horses were used for that one horse” and it drives me fellow movie watchers nuts! At least I can keep myself quiet during this one, cartoons aren’t supposed to be super realistic.

     
  10. Sydney

    October 23, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    Oh, and the Cloud Mustang Stallion documentaries!

     
  11. Catherine

    October 23, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Hi Stacy,

    Great to hear your favourtie horse movie. I loved the Black Stallion too. However, my all time favourite is National Velvet. As a little girl I so wanted to be Velvet Brown with my very own the Pie. 🙂

     
  12. Bev Gilford

    October 23, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    Seabiscuit. The little horse with the big heart.

     
    • Suzy Shaffer

      October 23, 2014 at 6:37 pm

      I agree, Seabiscuit!!! or The Black Stallion

       
  13. Krysti

    October 23, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    Man from Snowy River, Spirit, National Velvet, The Black Stallion, Black Beauty…not really a favorite. If it had a horse, I watched it.

     
  14. Elizabeth Cowling-Jones

    October 23, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    Yes my favorite is National Velvet… closely followed by International velvet. But there is a good movie called The silver brumby,, also a nice film.. and I loved the man from snowy river.. yes ok i could also go on and on.. and the several versions of Black Beauty,, and the War Horse of course.
    hey why do we horse people live and breathe horses then sit down at night and unwind with horse movies ???

     
  15. Sue

    October 23, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    The old time original Flicka movies including Thunderhead Son of Flicka.

     
    • Kevin

      October 27, 2014 at 7:06 pm

      Yep now there’s two I haven’t seen since i was a kid.

       
  16. Jo

    October 23, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    International velvet! As a kid I loved how dedicated Sarah was to her horse (:

     
  17. Heather

    October 23, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Phar Lap
    (True story of Australian race horse)

     
  18. Becky

    October 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken! Of course, any movie with a horse in it is fantastic!! 🙂

     
    • Lori B.

      October 24, 2014 at 2:22 pm

      Wild Hearts was my daughter’s favorite too!!

       
  19. Paige

    October 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    The man from snowy river! National velvet, flicka! I love them all and hard to pick a favorite. War horse was good too.

     
  20. pam taylor

    October 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    Dreamer – but I love all the ones mentioned too 🙂

     
  21. Ashley D.

    October 23, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Rustlers Rhapsody, a funny western spoof. You can’t have an amazing cowboy without his amazing horse. I was always in love with the beautiful trick “dancing” Wildfire and the beautiful tack.

     
  22. Lauri Bechler

    October 23, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Secretariat and The Horse Whisperer

     
  23. nancy h

    October 23, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    the horse in the grey flannel suit, the horse with the flying tail and of course the miracle of the white stallions

     
  24. Sandy Moseley

    October 23, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    One of my faves is Champions, with John Hurt. The true story of Bob Champion, a British steeple chase jockey who, in the late 1970s, was diagnosed with cancer. Rather than succumb to the disease, however, Bob stages a miraculous recovery and goes on to win the 1981 Grand National steeple chase on the horse Aldaniti. Aldaniti stars as himself.

     
  25. Jenny Barrett

    October 23, 2014 at 6:21 pm

    Misty of Chincoteague and My Friend Flicka. I wore the vhs of both of those out when I was young.

     
  26. NK

    October 23, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    I liked Hidalgo. I tend to be very picky about horse movies and how realistic they can be. I did not like War Horse for example. Black Beauty still gets me every time; I love it. The last Unicorn, does that count?

    Why didn’t your husband like Hidalgo?
    On that note, what are things you sometimes don’t like in horse movies? Bad riding? Unnecessary horse neighs?

     
    • Stacy

      October 24, 2014 at 8:21 am

      I forgot about The Last Unicorn!

      We saw Hidalgo in the theater so my mind is a bit fuzzy. I think I had to poke him when they were ‘sneaking’ somewhere and my husband laughs and says out loud, “Your riding the only Paint in the country!”…as the rider was putting on a mask, lol.

      I am pretty forgiving with horse movies, preferring to focus on the ‘essence’ of the movie rather than the flaws. Having said that, as a horse person it is hard to not pick up on the mistakes. The most glaring one I saw recently was in War Horse, where the horse is loose in the paddock (beginning of movie) and he has no halter on. One cut, maybe 5 seconds, he DOES have a halter on. It didn’t make me think less of the movie…but even a non-horse person editing should have caught it. It would be like an actor having a coat on for 5 seconds…

       
  27. Jamie Hendrickson

    October 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    Running Free was always my favorite! Every time we would go to blockbuster i would make my mom let me rent it lol. I also loved Spirit and Hidalgo and all the black stallion movies, as well as The Horse in the Grey Flannel Suit.

     
  28. Sharon Buxton-Bregola

    October 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    I all the ones mentioned, and yes, even Hidalgo, but my all round favorite is The Miracle of the White Stallions!

     
  29. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com

    October 23, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    My Friend Flicka, War Horse,Black Beauty, and Seabiscuit.

     
  30. Mara Vergon

    October 23, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    Some of my favs: silvester, wild hearts can’t be broken, the man from snowy river, black beauty.

     
  31. Bonnie M. Butler

    October 23, 2014 at 6:44 pm

    I have to agree with you, Stacy, the first Black Stallion movie, for sure, but I watch them all. Read all the horsey books I can, too. One good book, from when I was in school was FROG. Loved that, I don’t know if it is in print any more tho.

     
  32. Lynne

    October 23, 2014 at 6:44 pm

     
  33. Kara

    October 23, 2014 at 6:50 pm

    Secretariat (2010) and Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken haven’t been mentioned yet.

     
  34. darlaflack1

    October 23, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    Seabiscuit!! Because it is a true story of an incredible racehorse. Also Secretariat, same reason

     
  35. johanna

    October 23, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Movies about horses: i liked Secretariat a lot; Horse Whisperer (with Robert Redford and Scarlett Johannsen) was OK; the animated Disney movies about horses never really worked for me; but in the live action Disney movies, it is fun to think about how they trained some of the horses (and other animals) to do some of the tasks shown.
    Phar Lap was good too.

    I found Sea Biscuit the movie to be nowhere NEAR as great as the truly awesome book (by Laura Hillenbrand), especially regarding the amazing trainer and horse relationship. The movie made this a joke by comparison, as if Chris Cooper the actor who played the trainer, never even read the book… On the positive side, the movie portrays the life of jockeys and their relationship to their horses, owners, as well as to each other during that era, really well.
    The book Sea Biscuit is one that I read over and over–it is such an amazing and important portrait of a true American (equine) Hero. I was in tears on nearly every page!

     
  36. Darlene

    October 23, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    The man from Snowy River and The Black Stallion tie for me

     
  37. Angie

    October 23, 2014 at 7:18 pm

    My all time favourite movie is “wild hearts can’t be broken”

     
  38. Ayley "L"

    October 23, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    My favorite has already been named (The Black Stallion), but growing up I loved a few live action Disney horse movies: Tonka and Appaloosa come to mind and neither have been mentioned yet.
    And Misty of Chincoteague.

     
    • fran

      October 23, 2014 at 9:02 pm

      yes Ayley”L” LOved Tonka and of course Misty of Chincoteague, even went there as an adult lol. Several others used to be on but have no idea what they were named. and of course Fury!

       
      • Claudia

        October 23, 2014 at 10:48 pm

        Yes, Fury! You must be my age! That was my favorite show! Pete, Joey, Packy, Jim…

         
    • Lynne

      October 23, 2014 at 9:37 pm

      I’d forgotten about Tonka Wakan! An oldie but definitely a goodie.

       
  39. carlylou413

    October 23, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Black Beauty is my favorite, when I was little I would watch it over and over again. The black horse is so beautiful and the music is amazing. I even have the sound track, which is hard to find. I also have a friend that has a mare that looks just like Black Beauty:)

     
  40. Jessica Metts

    October 23, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    WARHORSE and Spirit are my ultimate favorites!!!!

     
  41. Ellie

    October 23, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    does anyone remember Christoclobito? I prob. spelled it wrong, but it was a disney movie about a gaited palomino…..

     
  42. Gayla Lemme

    October 23, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    Older movies, The Black Stallion, Black Beauty, newer movies Secretariat and War Horse and I did like Hidalgo a lot too.

     
  43. Dawns simpson

    October 23, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Long shot ( i think) is the name of one of our favorites, which has the blind dressage horse. Amazing. Will always love Spirit- music and non verbal expressions just a wonderful film.

     
  44. Lori Jack

    October 23, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Dreamer with Kurt Russell but I also like Secretariat

     
  45. Jennifer

    October 23, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    How funny my girls (9 and 2) and I just finished Spirit for the first time, picked up my phone to check Facebook and this post was the first one that popped up in my feed!

     
  46. Sandy

    October 23, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    Phar Lap has always been one of my favorites ! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phar_Lap_%28film%29

     
  47. Jenny Martin

    October 23, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    The Black Stallion is my all time favorite! I remember taking my young daughter to see it when it first came out! ( I am OLD!) It was a special trip for both of us, and we have seen it many times since then. I also have it on DVD, Hardcover book, and Kindle edition. Also an old one I fondly remember is “My friend Flicka”. Read the book long before I saw the movie!

     
  48. jen Hileman

    October 23, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Not much better than The Man From Snowy River and the return to Snowy River. And if you can find it. ..Phar Lap. All three star Australian actor Tom Burleson, who is a horseman as well as an actor.

     
    • jen Hileman

      October 23, 2014 at 8:04 pm

      Oh and Champions which stars John Hurt. ..a steeplechase jockey who battles cancer.

       
  49. Brenda Guernsey

    October 23, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    The Miracle of the White Stallions…..an older Disney movie about the rescue of the Lipizzaners during WWII.

     
  50. Martina Braden

    October 23, 2014 at 8:03 pm

    I have to say I love Hildalgo and I also like the Horse Whisper

     
  51. Sharon

    October 23, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    Secretariat, wonderful true story! a tear jerker for me as we had a stallion we rescued with Secretariat’s lineage, who looked like Secretariat, who was a dream to my late husband who wanted to race him. We rescued him as an 11 day old foal and raised him on goat milk. He grew to 16 1/2 H. He had a HUGE stride and the attitude of a winner. We kept him in a large pen with hot wire around it and he was constantly challenging the hot wire getting within a whisker of it. Sadly, after we started him in training we discovered he had a stenosis of the 5th and 6th vertebrae which made him a “wobbler”. We couldn’t afford the surgery for him so he never went on in his training. I’ve often wondered what might have been…. Anyway, Secretariat is a great true story of faith and determination.

     
  52. Debbie Kelly

    October 23, 2014 at 8:05 pm

    I loved My Friend Flicka, Thunderhead, and The Green Grass of Wyoming….did not see these mentioned here. Of course the books surpass any movie. Loved all the Walter Farley books.

     
  53. Sharon

    October 23, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Man From Snowy River, parts 1 & 2, are two of my fav’s. Amazing riding scenes and I was told by an Australian who knows the family on whose ranch the movie was filmed that the star of the show was only an amateur English rider before the movie and had to be coached to loosen up, not be so rigid in order to do the riding scenes. He did all his own stunts in the movie which is amazing!

     
    • jen Hileman

      October 23, 2014 at 9:43 pm

      agreed

       
  54. Billee

    October 23, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    Someone did mention Phar Lap, excellent movie. While not a horse movie, I LOVE Phillipe in Beauty and the Beast. All others mentioned, minus Hidalgo and the Horse Whisperer. Again, not a horse movie, but I loved Goliath in Ladyhawke. And the Irish Movie: Into the West.

     
  55. Heather

    October 23, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    My all time favorite, go-to horse movie is The Horse Whisperer.

     
  56. Dianekane

    October 23, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    The horse in the grey flannel suit, the horse with the flying tail, National Velvet, The Miracle Of the White Stallions, Dreamer, lots of great movies.

     
  57. LW

    October 23, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    Wild Hearts Can’t be Broke…true story…has to be one of my favs then Man from Snowy River I and II. Great thread! Next we should share the best horse books! I was tipped to read one called “Last of the Saddle Tramps” another true story about an older lady that made her way from East to West across the USA on horseback. Another all time fav book is “Kings in Grass Castles” true story about one particular family responsible for helping settle Australia. Plenty of horses in there!

     
  58. janet Fraser

    October 23, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    I can watch ‘Man From Snowy River’ 1&2 again and again

     
  59. Elizabeth

    October 23, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    The Little Horse That Could… My son watched it over and over and over…

     
  60. cathy walker

    October 23, 2014 at 8:54 pm

    April Love. The horse in this movie is awesome. Tugfire was his name.

     
  61. Jeni

    October 23, 2014 at 8:58 pm

    wild hearts cant be broken, second chances

     
  62. Maria Melendez

    October 23, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Seabiscuit and The Horse Whisperer

     
  63. kayla

    October 23, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    Seabiscuit, secretariate, spirit, black beauty, black stallion, hidalgo, the red pony, misty, old version of flicka movies, new version of flicka movies, wildfire, wild stallion, national velvet, the man fron snowy river movies, the horse whisperer, tv show heartland, racing stripes, the colt, my pal trigger, the strawberry roan, smoky, and tonka. Ive watched all of these an still do I just love em all.

     
  64. eklundpiddlers

    October 23, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    I loved Black Beauty. It gave me empathy for all domesticated animals. They are at our mercy. I have a good version of Black Beauty, and even though it makes me sad, I love the movie. I never wanted to sell a horse after watching that movie.

     
  65. Anne Voskuil

    October 23, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    My favorite is Jappeloup, although its in French and I havent found English subtitles so far. Good to brush up on my highschool French though!!

     
  66. Jan

    October 23, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    I’ve seen most of the movies listed. One of my recent favorites is 50 to 1, a true store about the 2009 long shot Kentuckey Derby winner Mine That Bird. The movie is about his unusual journey to the Derby and beyond. Jockey Calvin Bored plays himself in the movie as do some others. Really enjoyed this movie. I believe it was released in 2013. Other great horse movies were ones by Disney such as The Miracle of the White Stallions, Run Appaloosa Run and The Horse With The Flying Tail (about a horse that was going to slaughter and ended up as a jumper). These could probably be ordered through the Internet. 50 to 1 definitely worth seeing!!!

     
    • Jan

      October 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

      Ooops, auto correct misspelled Calvin Borel’s name. Should have caught it.

       
  67. paulastevens7

    October 23, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    My Friend Flicka trilogy,the original not the ruined one with the girl and Tim Mcgraw. Windancer,Moondance Alexander,Hildalgo,Spirit. List could go on an on.

     
  68. Patti Young

    October 23, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    Secretariat is definitely a favorite, but I’ve always loved The Long Shot. Feel-good tear jerker (mostly at the end), and I especially like it because it’s based on a true story.

     
  69. Rachel Ivey

    October 23, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    War Horse, Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken, and Thunderhead- Son of Flicka are all some of my favorites!
    There is another movie called Saved by Grace that isn’t as popular as the other ones, but just as good!

     
  70. Judy Gooding

    October 23, 2014 at 9:47 pm

    If it is a horse movie that is all I need to qualify as one to watch again and again 🙂

     
  71. mswomanoffire

    October 23, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    Does anyone remember “The Pit Ponies”? I remember seeing that in the movie theatre around 35-40 years ago. It was about the ponies used in the coal mines. A young girl tear jerker for sure as there was a competion by two girls over the ownership of one of the ponies.

     
    • Dona

      November 11, 2014 at 11:39 pm

      My Dads first pony was from a mine, she was blind, either from being in the dark or purposly blinded. This would be around 1935. He said it was one of the best ponies he ever had, no one would of ever known she was blind. They rode her & also used her to plow the garden. He lived in Ohio.

       
  72. Lanette chance

    October 23, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    Pharlap!!!! Absolutely love this movie

     
  73. Jacque

    October 23, 2014 at 10:16 pm

    Secretariat is my favorite, cause all the men talked down to his owner like she knew nothing and proved them all wrong by having the greatest horse to ever live and she did it without having a barn full of horse’s to choose from….

     
  74. pattiyoung

    October 23, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    Also The Silver Brumby. Just found the movie on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdAV9bSSjjI

     
  75. Annie Azzopardi

    October 23, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    My Friend Flicka (the original with Roddy McDowell), Thunderhead Son of Flicka and The Green Grass of Wyoming

     
  76. Mandy

    October 23, 2014 at 10:39 pm

    All if these are awesome. I think we own most, 2 teenage horse loving girls in our home! You’ve got to check out “Two-bits & Pepper”. It’s a keeper!!! I’ve found it at TSC in the $5 movie display.

     
  77. Tish

    October 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Gypsy Colt, Black Stallion, Seabiscuit, Man from Snowy River, Silver Stallion.

     
  78. sharyl

    October 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    I loved DREAMER with Kurt Russell and Dakota Fanning

     
  79. Brenda

    October 23, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    One of my favorites that hasn’t been mentioned is “Dreamer”. It always brings tears to my eyes.

     
  80. Marsha

    October 23, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    Ride a Wild Pony. I think I watched it a thousand times as a girl. Danny, the original one. I think there’s a newer version that wasn’t as good. Both might be hard to find, now.

     
  81. Kristy Licu

    October 23, 2014 at 11:07 pm

    I love Justin Morgan had a Horse. Just got it off iTunes. Haven’t seen it since I was a kid (I’m 35). Loved it now just as much as then.

     
  82. Sonja

    October 23, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    The Horse in the Gray Flannel Suit, Slyvester, Casey Shadow, My friend Flicka (my first horse’s name). I actually am collecting all horse movies on DVD. So this is awesome to see which movies I need to add.

     
  83. Sharon Hill

    October 23, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    Flash staring Lucas Black. Rides a horse from Atlanta to New York.
    Made for tv Disney movie. You can find it on DVD if you search for Lucas Black in Flash.

     
  84. Londyn Rychel

    October 23, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    I would have to say running free is my all time favorite! Also two-bit and pepper was an awesome movie as well!

     
  85. Pam Wilson

    October 24, 2014 at 12:24 am

    Favorite is Sylvester

     
  86. Wallace G. Wereley

    October 24, 2014 at 12:42 am

    Seabiscuit is my absolute favorite

     
  87. Dana

    October 24, 2014 at 1:20 am

    Black Stallion is still a big favorite- but not mentioned so far was Sylvester- about a young woman training a raw bronc for 3 day event- really nice understory to that one, even better as a book- and does anyone else remember “Ride a wild pony” an Australian film , well done about 2 kids who think they own the same pony-

     
  88. Manda Rowe

    October 24, 2014 at 1:20 am

    While I love The Black Stallion, the Black Stallion Returns is probably one of my all time favorite movies to watch over and over. The beauty of the scenery and horses take my breath away, and the race is my absolute favorite of all race scenes. The other horse movie I could watch over and over is The Man From Snowy River (not so much the second). And for what ever reason I really love the movies Virginia’s Run and Moon Alexander and Flash.

     
  89. Heather M

    October 24, 2014 at 1:21 am

    1. Man from Snowy River 1&2 2. Black stallion, 3. Pharlap

     
  90. Heather Fenn

    October 24, 2014 at 1:25 am

    I love all the above. There is a super French movie \ doco called Zingaro it all set to gypsy music in a horse circus.

     
  91. Josephine

    October 24, 2014 at 1:44 am

    I like the one called spirit, I don’t know if it’s the same name I the us. And war horse is absolutely fantastic!

     
  92. Gunnar Halldórsson

    October 24, 2014 at 4:00 am

    Check out the icelandic movie Of horses and men(Hross í oss).

     
  93. Rosie Wylie

    October 24, 2014 at 4:12 am

    Lightening The White Stallion with Mickey Rooney. My sister and I still get over excited…., 30 years on :))))

     
  94. Rebecca

    October 24, 2014 at 4:31 am

    Just not a Fine Step. Okay, I appreciated that there were Paso Finos in a movie, finally. But we Paso people are really perturbed with the movie for so many glaring innacuracies. They made the shows which are so exciting, look so boring and lame, rediculous announcing.
    I was stuck in a state of being happy to see Pasos on the screen, and annoyed every other minute, LOL.
    Not to mention all the bad general horsemanship. How long were those horses tied in their stalls? “Training” being twirling the horse is tiny circles and yelling his name at him, oh my. Ect ect.
    And what was with the weird canters when they went to search the fields….. my Paso has an actual canter + lope and he does a fast gallop, even though he is a tightly gaited show horse!
    Just bugged it painted such a poor picture of our breed….. go ahead and watch it so you can see some of the things that bugged us, LOL.
    In the show scenes, I don’t know what the cause was, maybe a rush to make the movie / actor riders / whatever, but the horses were not very collected and the gaits uneven…. hurried production is all I can think. The real shows have really good horses in them.
    The Nationals is held at Kentucky horse park beginning of Oct, and we enjoyed watching it on live USEF streaming this year.

     
  95. Gretta

    October 24, 2014 at 4:50 am

    Does anyone remember Fury

     
    • Sharon Buxton-Bregola

      October 26, 2014 at 6:37 am

      My favorite when I was a kid..no Sat AM was complete without watching it! 😀

       
  96. Marissa Cornelisse

    October 24, 2014 at 4:59 am

    Abosolutely the horse whisperer! Beautifull movie

     
  97. Deborah Watson

    October 24, 2014 at 7:03 am

    Medicine hat stallion

     
  98. Alli

    October 24, 2014 at 7:28 am

    Phar lap is a great movie about Australia’s most famous race horse. You can see Phar lap today in the Melbourne museum. Man from snowy river and silver brumby are other Australian Classics, but the silver brumby movie does not capture the true essence of the silver brumby book series.

     
  99. quarterhorsegirl

    October 24, 2014 at 7:45 am

    War Horse, Secretariat, and National Velvet!

     
  100. Claire James

    October 24, 2014 at 7:48 am

    OMG can’t believe people are mentioning Wild Hearts can’t be Broken a horrible film about shocking horse abuse!!!!! Really upset me, and then when I researched it afterwards the truth behind it was even more shocking. Can’t believe it was made by Disney. Making horses fall huge drops into water, even one off a pier where it panicked swam out to sea and was drowned. Sick. Rant over…. will have to search out some of the others mentioned esp Black Stallion. The films I saw as a child like National Velvet always seemed to have too much human stuff in them! Loved the Silver Brumby books, didn’t know there was a film made will definately have to seek that out.

     
    • Susan

      October 24, 2014 at 8:58 am

      Thank you for the insight!

       
  101. shirlee

    October 24, 2014 at 8:37 am

    A really old one that is worth watching if you can find it, “Parlap,” one of the best race horse stories of all time!

     
  102. Shelley Massey

    October 24, 2014 at 8:45 am

    Man From Snowy River and Return to Snowy River

     
  103. Amanda Hoffner

    October 24, 2014 at 10:28 am

    War horse is my most recent favorite! Hard to watch over and over but it’s a real heart to heart connection between man and horse.

     
  104. Leigh

    October 24, 2014 at 11:36 am

    Has anyone mentioned The Electric Horseman?

     
  105. Kate

    October 24, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    Well I did have a nice post written and it disappear :/ here are some movies to watch. I asked the question too. http://www.horseforum.com/movies-music-tv/good-horse-movies-431178/

    Shergar
    Misty
    Touching wild horses
    Black Stallion
    Black beauty
    Wild Horse Wild Ride

     
  106. Katie Clay

    October 24, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    Spirit was my favorite as a kid and I still love watching it. John Wayne and The Cowboys, though it doesn’t totally highlight horses; Man From Snowy River 1, Fury, The Black Stallion of course, War Horse, Secretariat, Hidalgo, Wild Hearts Can’t Be Broken and Leap Of Faith, International Velvet, National Velvet, the old Flicka 1 & 2. The new ones aren’t bad either though.

     
  107. Rachel

    October 24, 2014 at 12:34 pm

    Moondance Alexander!!

     
  108. Barbara

    October 24, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    ohhh, thank you everyone for some I have not seen! Can’t count the times we’ve watched Secetariat. . . Oh Happy Day! Just have to say I wish Hildago’s shoes wouldn’t have been left on him when he was turned loose at the very end!! argghhhh…..

     
  109. Lorrie

    October 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Man from Snowy River 1 has the best riding scenes but both are the best.

     
  110. lorrieschoenecker

    October 24, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    May from Snowy River has the best riding scene ever but both 1 and 2 are good. Secretariat is also excellent.

     
  111. firnhyde

    October 24, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    My all-time favourite horse movie is probably “Tornado and the Kalahari Horse Whisperer”, but since that is likely only available in South Africa, I’ll say Dreamer. Secreteriat a very close second. War Horse is also heartbreaking and beautiful.

     
  112. Lori B.

    October 24, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    “In Pursuit of Honor” was also a great movie, I haven’t seen it in years and years, but it was heartbreaking.

     
  113. Tina B.

    October 24, 2014 at 5:32 pm

    Phar Lap for sure and I have seen them all.

     
  114. Heather

    October 24, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    Flicka is my favorie.

     
  115. AO

    October 24, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    Snowfire.

     
  116. Claudia

    October 25, 2014 at 11:04 am

    Flicka, Both the old one and the newer one! And spirit was awesome too 🙂

     
  117. Wilson

    October 25, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    1.Black Beauty ( original). 2. The Black Stallion. 3. The Horse Whisperer.

     
  118. Meg

    October 25, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    Man from Snowy River (1 & 2), The Black Stallion, Secretariat, Seabuiscuit, and National Velvet…deep sigh!

     
  119. PaintedSkyRanch

    October 26, 2014 at 12:06 am

    Definitely The Black Stallion, Secretariat, Seabiscuit, Dreamer and Sylvester.are my favorites, but I have also enjoyed all of the others mentioned above. I could watch Secretariat and Sylvester again and again.

     
  120. Karrie

    October 26, 2014 at 9:00 am

    Smokey – the 1966 movie with Fess Parker is my all time favorite. I think it shows the devotion between a human and horse. At the end where they remember each other and he rescues Smokey always brings tears to my eyes.

     
    • Dona

      November 11, 2014 at 11:22 pm

      Oh my gosh, cant find the Smoky with Fess, would love to see that one again. I’ve only been able to find the Fred MacMurray one 1946, it is my favorite tho.

       
  121. Carolyn

    October 26, 2014 at 9:13 am

    Buck. Great true story.

     
  122. Brenda

    October 27, 2014 at 11:33 am

    Oh man, where to begin. Along with a lot of the ones mentioned above a few of my favorites are Moondance Alexander, A Leap of Faith, The Horse Whisperer and of course Hildalgo. I am hoping with the lists above I may find a few new favorites.

     
  123. Kelsey Myerson

    October 28, 2014 at 10:43 am

    My favorite is “Wild Hearts Can Never be Broken”.

     
  124. Pamela

    October 28, 2014 at 3:53 pm

    The Horse in the Gray Flannel Suit. Disney at its best.

     
  125. Susan

    October 28, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    My Friend Flicka, National Velvet,
    Black Beauty, Mr Ed series , lol

     
  126. Karen Montgomery

    October 28, 2014 at 4:45 pm

    Casey’s shadow was a good one too. With Walter Mathieu.

     
  127. Joyce

    October 29, 2014 at 2:17 am

    The Black Stallion series

     
  128. Susie McDevitt

    October 29, 2014 at 10:13 am

    I enjoyed Spirit but the glaring mistake in it ( other than horses having eyebrows) was that they show horses lapping up water like a dog rather than sipping.

     
    • Stacy

      October 29, 2014 at 1:18 pm

      I admit the lapping bothered me too. I thought it was funny that my kids noticed that Spirits eyes were more human (white around them) than horse.

       
  129. Carrie Oxford

    November 5, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    I follow a great photographer in Minnesota who is now doing short films about the relationship of horses and their owners. Her name is Shelly Paulson and one of her films is being featured at the Equus film festival in NY city in November. Check it out and share if you can. I think a lot of us would love to go. I included the link I hope that’s ok. /www.facebook.com/EquusFilmFestivalNYC

     
  130. Dona

    November 11, 2014 at 11:14 pm

    Smoky with Fred MacMurray, 1946, based on the book by Will James, you will never find a better horse story.

     
  131. Jenny Northcott

    March 20, 2015 at 12:32 am

    I just happened back over this older column and thought you might enjoy the Canadian T.V. series Heartland. It’s main character is a young gal who has a special talent with horses. It’s rich with beautiful scenery of Alberta with the beautiful Rocky Mountains as the backdrop. Sure, it’s a little far fetched sometimes but the basic premise of working with horses in a kinder and gentler fashion is more important. It’s definitely a family show and your boys may enjoy it as well. It is available on Netflix (5 seasons worth with the sixth season currently on TV right now) Hope you get a chance to check it out! I very much enjoy your columns, videos etc. You provide so many woman with a person they can really look up to, both horsey and non-horsey. I totally love how successful you are employing the methods that you do and best of all, your sharing and giving nature!

     
    • Stacy

      March 20, 2015 at 8:19 am

      My family watched the first few seasons of Heartland on Netflix before we moved. I thought about buying the DVD’s for Christmas so we could watch them on the road…thanks for the reminder!

       

Leave a Reply

 
