RSS

Stacy’s Video Diary: Jac – 20 minutes in; hands on training begins…Episode 2

19 Oct
Epsode 2

Click to watch Episode 2

Jac after 20 minute evaluation (Episode 1).

The first week with Jac we filmed every day because the young horses learn so fast that if I jumped from day one to day three….you would see a huge change but wonder how I got there. So instead I decided to give more footage and allow people to decide what they want to see. It may not look like much today but the ‘seeds’ I plant in Episode 1 & 2 really start to bear fruit in the future episodes.

Episode 2 is the same day as episode 1, but now I am hooked onto him. Because of that, they will feel pretty similar. Jac is bored and frustrated in the beginning of this segment and doesn’t understand that I am trying to communicate with him. You can see the change by the end of this episode and it carries forward into Episode 3 & 4.

Watch as I discuss pawing, introducing the stick and string, horse respecting a person’s body space, horse’s emotions, how long to work with a horse, when it is a good time or bad time to stop working with a horse and funky chicken dance moves!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2013 in Stacy's Video Diary: Jac, Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Stacy’s Video Diary: Jac – 20 minutes in; hands on training begins…Episode 2

  1. Wendy Russ

    October 19, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    Love every second of it! Thanks for sharing!

     
  2. Robin Marks

    October 19, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    Hi Stacey! So glad you are sharing your training with Jac. I am working with our colt as well and I’m sure I will learn a ton! He is very similar in body language and confidence as Jac=)

     
  3. Juanita

    October 19, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    I love the way you talk and visually demonstrate at the same time.
    Juanita

     
  4. Holly Martinez

    October 19, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    Hi Stacey, Your Jac videos give me so much. To watch him and his movements just open up my heart.
    On Sept 15. I lost my very much loved Jack. He was out of Two eyed Jack and Dog Face. I had him since he was 6 months old. They had just pulled 35 colts in from the range. I was brave and went to stand in the middle of them. I had my eye on this sorrel, since that was the color I had in mind. He was the only one that kept coming back to see what the heck i was. He always kept that preqoius way. I have many stories about him and he always made me laugh. He was brillant. What i have read is my Jack was very much like his grandfather Two Eyed Jack, mischievious.
    When i see you work with your Jac, It almost makes me want to get another horse. Maybe next year i will be ready to begin the search. I may have watch enough of your videos to train a young one bridleless. Anyway i just wanted to let you know your videos have reached me in a very good way, thanks for sharing.

     
  5. Dianne Pearson

    October 19, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    Thanks for sharing your life with Jac, it is so much fun to watch you and him

     
  6. Patricia A. Woodruff

    October 19, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    Stacy, this is the greatest idea EVER! I never heard of anyone doing this before, a true treasure to keep for a lifetime and just imagine how many people will do so much better with their horses as they watch you working with Jac!! You have a God-Given-Gift with horses! Love you!! xo

     
  7. Lisa May

    October 20, 2013 at 1:42 am

    I am starting my first young horse on his ground work so I will be watching you religiously. Thanks so much for presenting this.

     
  8. michelle barley

    October 20, 2013 at 8:48 am

    Stacy you’re amazing love everything you do. this video diary is so cool. good luck with Jac you’ll be wonderful together!

     
  9. Reanna

    October 20, 2013 at 9:52 am

    This is an awesome tool for anyone with a young horse that may need guidance with how to work though a training issue they’re having. The more videos, advice and step by step instructions the better! Love watching these videos!

     
  10. William J Krauss

    October 20, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    Do you own Jac ?

     
    • Stacy

      October 20, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      No. Greg Gessner, who owned Roxy, owns him. I think I talk about it in an upcoming episode.

       
  11. Linda

    October 20, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    I love the way you explain everything….so glad you are sharing. I am learning right along with Jac.

     

Leave a Reply

 
