RSS

Problems with teaching a horse to Bow

04 Jan

Hi Stacy, I watched your video on how to teach your horse to bow and I finally got my horse Espresso to bow. Although now that she know\’s how to bow every time the farrier comes to do her feet she bows. What is your suggestion? thanks Haley

Lol. That happens!

It should be less as you use the tap on the leg for the cue. Right now she is just concerned with the leg being held up. You may just hold her head and discourage her from going down for the next couple of setting.

If that doesn’t work, and you are using the rope and not your hand when you do hold her leg up, then you could also discourage her when she goes down by a gentle poke in the belly with your thumb when she tries to bow during feet cleaning.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2012 in Members Question, Training

 

2 responses to “Problems with teaching a horse to Bow

  1. Jodi peck

    January 4, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Funny, I taught my mini to bow along with other tricks, and as soon as I go outside he goes through them all, all by himself!! just cause he knows I cant refuse giving him a treat! Its so cute.
    Thanks stacy for the info because he bows all the time, when I put his blanket on and when he has his feet done or brushed! He just wants his goodie I think. But this mini lived in the house with me for about 2 years. They are way smarter than people give them credit for! Did you know they dream! He used to lay flat out on the living room floor and run and whinny in his sleep. I just love that they do remember and have dreams of there own!!

     
  2. Olivia

    January 4, 2012 at 10:32 am

    I taught my mini to stand on a platform and she does it just for the attention. I can put her on it and leave for 15 min, come back and she is still there, napping on the platform, lol! She also likes to get dressed up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
